Southfield Grill

Let me preface this by saying that tonight’s review will be a “composite review” (I just made that up, you like it?): I’ve eaten at Southfield several times, so instead of doing my standard try-it-once-and-blog deal, I’m combining my past dining experiences and putting them into one delightful, compact little article.

By now, you’re probably starting to catch on that I like Southfield Grill a good lot.  It’s one of those magical, rare places that always sounds delicious.  I can’t explain this phenomenon, but I know that even if I’m hell-bent on falafel or cannelloni, I can always–always–be talked into a trip to Southfield. Fairly easily.

One of Southfield Grill’s major draws is the whole any-food-served-any-time concept. Sure, it’s not really a new idea, but I’ve got to say, sometimes you just want pancakes for dinner. And one of the perks of adulthood, one that I am just getting used to myself, is that you can have pancakes for dinner. Better yet, you can have Southfield pancakes. My companion and I regularly eat at Southfield for breakfast, and he always, without fail, orders the pancakes. I have major issues with eating a plate of carbs for breakfast (these are not nutritional issues, mind you, I just hate that I’ll be hungry again by 10 a.m.), but he tears into that stack with the greedy, purehearted enthusiasm previously seen only on Christmas morning. Inevitably, he realizes that the “stack” is too much for him (a “stack” at Southfield is 3 pancakes, about 10 inches in diameter, reasonably priced at $6), and, like a well-rehearsed Tango, I swoop in to assist with the last few bites. I honestly don’t know why Southfield’s pancakes don’t earn more recognition. Light, fluffy, with an unobtrusive sweetness, they are, without doubt, some of the best pancakes I’ve ever had.

But we can’t neglect my breakfast of choice. Simple and nutritionally balanced (sort of), my two eggs (over-medium), hashed browns, sausage and biscuits are a ridiculous steal at $4.50. At this price, I never even feel the slightest hint of guilt for not finishing it. As an aside, allow me to offer some egg wisdom. While in college, my friends and I spent a lot of late nights at an inner-city Waffle House. Tempting fate in more than one way, we drank our coffee and ate our eggs at bizarre hours, trying in vain to be as poetic and Kerouacian as possible. Our usual waitress, Janice, either found us amusing or was just bored to tears. One night, she let me in on a trade secret: never, ever order eggs over-easy in a diner. I didn’t ask, and she didn’t elaborate, but I’ll tell you what: I heeded Janice’s advice and have never looked back. Now, salmonella is no longer a big threat when eating eggs; it’s estimated that one in 20,000 eggs are contaminated with it, and even then, it’s only a threat if it makes it through the heat of cooking and your immune system. But readers, I have seen over-easy diner eggs…and, foodborne illness or not, they’re not going down my gullet.

Southfield also offers uniquely Southern breakfast choices. Biscuits and gravy are so popular that they get their own section on the menu, and the lumberjacks out there can even add a pork chop to any breakfast plate. Southfield is, in fact, ridiculously accommodating when it comes to “special” orders. On New Year’s Day, I requested turnip greens to wash down my breakfast, and nary an eyelash was batted.

Of course, I would be remiss to mention that Southfield isn’t all breakfast. Po-boys, sandwiches (including country fried steak and catfish) and burgers round out a dynamic lunchtime menu, while daily specials offer something for everyone. The specials page of the menu reads like a cornucopia of Southern delights: fried chicken breasts, chicken and dumplings, and beef tips co-mingle with homey side dishes like fried squash, butter beans, and broccoli and cheese casserole. For best results, use your discretion and pick seasonally-appropriate vegetables. Although the broccoli-cheese casserole, I must admit, is fabulous year-round.

Despite my gushings, I do have some qualms about Southfield. The layout of the restaurant is awkward and cramped (the main dining room could benefit from the removal of one or two tables), and the “seat yourself” policy leaves me in fear that we’ll be forgotten about. Thankfully, we’ve always been attended to promptly, but I still fret about it every once in awhile. Southfield gets unbelievably crowded on Saturday and Sunday mornings, and my companion and I have had to turn around and eat elsewhere on more than one occasion. It’s usually wise to plan your visit during church-time, if you’re so inclined.

While annoying, the regular crowds make a strong case for the quality of a meal at Southfield Grill. If you’re looking for Southern food like Mom makes (without being nagged to settle down with a nice girl or take out the trash), Southfield Grill is one of Shreveport’s finest offerings.

Southfield Grill

315 Southfield Road

318-219-4148

www.southfieldgrill.com (under construction)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Southfield Grill

  1. Pingback: Another Broken Egg Cafe « Savoring Shreveport (& Bossier City)

Leave a Reply

