News and notes

Greetings, readers!

I wanted to let you all know that Savoring Shreveport is going to be going on a bit of a hiatus until next month. Companion and I are relocating to a new neighborhood here in Shreveport, and, in between packing, budgeting, moving and planning, I won’t be able to review any new restaurants until after we’re settled in the new place. Thankfully, the move is a major upgrade from our current place, and while I’m reluctant to name specific neighborhoods, it’s safe to assume that we’re both extremely excited.

In the meantime, three new restaurants have opened up on the Louisiana Boardwalk: Which Wich, Stoney’s Smoke Shack, and Pietro’s Italian Kitchen.

Which Wich is a make-your-own sandwich place of the highest order. Instead of fumbling over your words with an apathetic “sandwich artist,” place your order on the provided sandwich bags, checking off which meats, cheeses, and toppings you fancy. My favorite so far is their egg salad with deli mustard, lettuce, tomato, and crispy onions. Frankly, any place that even offers egg salad is ok by me.

I haven’t visited Stoney’s Smoke Shack yet, so don’t hold it against me if it’s awful. Stoney’s calls itself an “eco-friendly” restaurant, using only organic ingredients. While their “mascot” is a wholesome-looking caveman, most of the menu items at Stoney’s are named after different varieties of, you guessed it, weed. Their “Mexican Red” and “Thai Stick” subs are two such examples. One has to wonder if they discreetly offer certain brownies for dessert (if they did, they wouldn’t be the first restaurant to do so). With all the thinly veiled pot references, it makes me wonder how long they’ll be in business on the family-friendly Boardwalk. At any rate, their dynamic menu sounds delicious and different.

Finally, Pietro’s Italian Kitchen attempts to fill the empty Italian slot on the Boardwalk with pastries, espresso, hot sandwiches, pizza, and pasta. Pietro’s is another place I haven’t hit yet (I told you I’ve been busy!), but I’m optimistic; we could definitely use a few more good Italian places around town.

I’m not a big fan of crowds/children/top 40 music, so I tend to avoid the Boardwalk during peak hours. However, I know it’s a popular place, so if you’re planning on stopping by any of the restaurants I mentioned, drop me a line and let me know if it’s worth checking out.

In the meantime, if you’re not already a fan of Savoring Shreveport on Facebook, become one! Let me know you’re out there, and stay on top of updates without having to check the blog every day.

I’ll be back in April, with a whole neighborhood’s worth of exciting new restaurants to talk about!

Your friend in food,

Alex

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “News and notes

  1. Congrats and looking forward to more reviews. I have been to two of three mentioned and had good experiences at both. Have yet to try Stoney’s……

  2. Jim

    Congratulations on the move. I’ll just go over to Chicken Fried Gourmet and drool over the great food pics they put up. Have you seen that shrimp?!

Leave a Reply

