Angering hours and so on…

Well, I was going to hit up Earthereal yesterday, in honor of Earth Day, and then blog about the sprouts-filled sandwich and vegan cookies I had. But I didn’t get there until 3 p.m. (I get out of my “regular” job at 2), and they were already closed. In fact, they’re only open from 10-2:30 Monday-Friday. They’re completely closed on weekends.

My companion was so frustrated by this that he has vowed never to eat there again, and I can’t really blame him. On top of their bizarre hours, Earthereal doesn’t accept credit or debit cards. To dine at Earthereal, one must carefully orchestrate a time-sensitive dance of visiting an ATM and navigating their tiny parking lot in order to show up with at least a half-hour buffer until they close. People who work during the week, unless they’re near the vicinity of Line Avenue, can never eat there. I’ll let that sink in.

While I understand that some restaurants are lunch-only, when you’re Shreveport’s SOLE vegetarian restaurant, you’d think that you’d be open for more than 20 hours a week. I especially don’t understand the weekend thing. They could be netting a lot of customers out shopping on Line (wow, two puns in one sentence) on Saturday and Sunday afternoons. But what do I know about business? Really, not much. All I know is that this is not the first time I’ve unsuccessfully attemped to eat at Earthereal, and it just doesn’t really seem like they want my business at all.

Just a thought.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Angering hours and so on…

  1. Dave

    I dont blame them. They are older and dont really want to work that much. If I could get away with it, I would too!

  2. And they are also a bakery inside the restaurant so they get things going very early to get bread and cookies baked. John & Katie Koellen own and operate it. I’m pretty sure John is almost 80 years old. He’s there every day at 4 am to start baking. It’s been around at least 25 years. It’s a cool funky place. You’ll love it once you’ve tried it.

Leave a Reply

