Smashburger Sneak-Peek

Shreveport, what am I going to do with you?

Some months ago, the Shreveport Times ran their annual “Best Of…” feature, wherein readers vote for their favorite businesses. Categories range from dry cleaners to dentists to donuts. 2010, I’m afraid, was a bad year for Shreveport’s “Best Of…” I read, with a mixture of shock, horror, and disbelief, that Burger King came out on top in the “best burger” category. Not best fast-food burger. Not best questionable-ingredient burger. Best burger. Period. Beating out Papa & Co., Gumbo to Geaux, the turkey burger at Bistro Byronz and even the filet mignon buger on Bella Fresca’s lunch menu.

Well Shreveport, it’s time to start demanding more from your food, and Smashburger is here to help.

Opening tomorrow, July 14th, I was lucky enough to be invited to their pre-opening taste test. I won’t do a full review until I return as a paying customer (I am, after all, the voice of the common eater. Right?), but suffice it to say Smashburger, located on (where else?) Youree Drive, is a breath of fresh air for Shreveport. Check out the menu on their website (see that Louisiana burger? They’ve come up with a different recipe for each state) and gear up for an experience that’s several steps ahead of your beloved Burger King.

Also, bread pudding milkshake: three words strung together in a potentially life-changing fashion. That’s all I’m saying.

Alex

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Smashburger Sneak-Peek

  1. Renee Strange

    Bread Pudding Milkshake!!!!!!!!!! OMG!!!!!!!!!!! I have died and gone to heaven. Thanks so much!

  2. I think you will find that what you may consider fine dining/good food is much different than the majority of the Shreveport/Bossier population unfortunately. I wish the locals like Bella Fresca, Wine Country,CC, etc were as filled as the chains on Youree on any given day but I guess that means it is easier for us to get in.

    • I agree with you to a point, and I recognize that there are all kinds of reasons people don’t eat at places like Bella Fresca and Wine Country regularly (price being the first that comes to mind), but there are so many delicious, affordable, unpretentious, hole-in-the-wall, hidden jewels of trashy eats around here. Being popular is one thing, but being voted “best” is quite another.

  3. dave

    2010 wasnt the only bad year. 2009, 2008, 2007…………

  4. Okay what I meant to say was that I wish all the local places were as frequented as the chains. I love Yeero Yeero, Herby K’s, Noble Savage, the taco place, I just get dismayed when I see Olive Garden and the Golden Corral packed at any given hour on any day.

    BTW “self promotion ALERT” did you see my ArtSpace dinner annoucement? I think you and your Mr may enjoy it

    • Yeah, I get similarly dismayed. I don’t like to pass judgment, but a lot of times I think it’s just sheer ignorance…some people really just don’t know that there are better places out there. On the other hand, I think many people DO know, but they just don’t care to try the better places. People like to eat the food they were raised on, and if Mom was a crappy cook, or Dad only ate meat and potatoes (or if Olive Garden was considered “fancy”), it’s a self-perpetuating cycle.

      And I just took a gander at your Someone’s in the Kitchen Announcement! Congratulations! I would LOVE to sign up for this…I clicked on the link, but the only option was to leave a comment. Is that what I need to do? I know these things fill up fast, so now I’m all antsy.

  5. yes I believe if you leave a comment then you will be signed up, worst case let me know if you want to attend and I’ll make sure that you are on the “list” 🙂

  6. My husband and I love Herby K’s! And we have the t-shirts.

    When I am traveling, I often stop at Burger King or McDonald’s but that’s because they usually have clean restrooms with decent handicap stalls.

    Because I want to continue to have access to those conveniences, I always buy at least an (overpriced) drink.

    I’m not enough of a food snob to say that everything fast food chains offer is BAD, I’m realistic enough to say that it’s almost never the BEST.

    • Right on Donna, I completely agree. The road is my preferred way to travel, and I do it often. While I’d love to wander backroads all day and eat at every little local hole-in-the-wall I come across, I almost never have the time or the resources to map out each one along my route. The big chains generally have consistent service, consistent quality, and consistent atmosphere…not even close to being the best, I’d venture, but they are reliable. When you’re in unfamiliar territory, you just want something close to a highway exit. I save the culinary romps for my destination.

  7. Renee Strange

    I was also shocked at several of the “best” dining categories this year. It’s all about the money, folks. Most people eat on the run, and as cheaply as they can. Consequently, half of America doesn’t know what good food is.

  8. Jen

    Um, wow…Burger King? That has to be the worst fast food burger in town.

Leave a Reply

