Back in the Saddle

Yeah, it’s me. Yep, still here. Oh, and the changes with which I could regale you! My trusty, food-loving companion is now my husband. His orders to California were canceled in what could be considered the Greatest Catastrophe of Our Married Life. But that was months ago. We’ve mellowed out, unpacked, and settled in for Round II in good ol’ SHV.

I wanted to drop in and let you know about our experience a few nights ago with Shreveport’s newest food delivery service, GoWaiter.com. Back in college, my friends and I played an unofficial game that we called Taco Bell Roulette. There weren’t really any rules. Actually, it wasn’t much of a game. You’d just go to Taco Bell (usually late at night, usually after an evening of…imbibing), order something, and get something completely different. A win or a loss could be determined by whether you’d beaten or been beat by the Taco Bell system. Did you ask for two crunchy tacos and a packet of cinnamon twists, but end up with three gorditas, pintos ‘n cheese, a taco salad, and five MexiMelts? Win! They don’t even make MexiMelts anymore! Anyway, you get the idea.

So, based on our one experience with GoWaiter.com, they are kind of playing their own version of takeout roulette. Currently, they offer service from a handful of restaurants: Sake Sushi, Ristorante Giuseppe, Athena Greek and Lebanese, Firehouse Subs, Chili’s, Cantina Laredo, Honeybaked Ham (just in case you have a Christmas Emergency), and Columbia Cafe. They deliver the food for regular menu price, plus a $3.99 delivery fee and driver tip. We chose Athena: two orders of Athena Special Fish, specifically. We ended up with a veritable feast: one order of Athena Special Fish, a plate of shawarma, three feta salads, two orders of hummus, and one of tzatziki. I suppose this was a win. By the time we made the discovery, we had been waiting for an hour, so we ate gratefully and put the rest away for leftovers. Still, if you’re on a restrictive diet or don’t like surprises, GoWaiter.com might not be a good choice. Unfortunately, we all sometimes fall victim to the siren song of delivered food, despite our best intentions.

I’m still not sure if I want to completely resurrect Savoring Shreveport. I’ve moved away from freelancing, and although writing will always be a major part of my identity, I haven’t made eating out as much of a priority since we got The News. I also haven’t been as abreast of the local food landscape–although I’d like for that to change. In the meantime, I’m looking for full-time work (know anyone who’s hiring?) and taking some time to adjust.

And that’s where things are right now. I hope everything is well with you, readers.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Back in the Saddle

  1. Melissa

    I felt like I was reading my story! Good luck

  2. Mom

    Well, I am glad to see you’re writing again!

Leave a Reply

